F. John Hajaliloo, MD

Spine (Backbone)

The spine (backbone) is composed of 33 interlocking bones called vertebrae that are separated by soft, compressible discs and supported by many different ligaments and muscles. It is divided into five segments: cervical (neck), thoracic (upper and middle back), lumbar (lower back), sacrum (pelvis), and coccyx (tailbone).

The vertebrae in the spine normally form three curves. These curves allow the spine to absorb shock as you move.

Most people have experienced back pain sometime in their life. The causes of back pain are numerous; some are self-inflicted due to a lifetime of bad habits. Other back pain causes include accidents, muscle strains, and sports injuries. Although the causes may be different, most often they share the same symptoms.

Common spine issues

  • Disc problems
  • Nerve impingement
  • Fracture
  • Deformity / Scoliosis
  • Ankylosingspondylitis
  • Tailbone pain/fracture